top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureFaith Hickey

Quarantine: Staying in, With the In-Laws

Updated: Apr 5, 2020




After six months of long distance, COVID-19 has brought my spouse and I back home. Due to the coronavirus outbreak and the prediction that our country would be sent into quarantine, I decided to move back home from my student house in London. My college classes were now online so there was no reason for me to stay in London. I packed my things and headed to my home town, Trenton, ON, three plus hours away.


"Great dinner, should we set up the board game now?" - Someone, every night.

Housing


Since we knew social distancing was coming into effect my spouse and I decided it would be ideal for us to be living in the same house. We are both young and still in school so we do not have our own houses back home. We decided that we would stay at his parents home. This meant that we spent the majority of the time there except for the day I would go home to be with my family. Both families were okay with this.


Because Dan is retired and Beth is a school teacher, they both had every day off and were not required to work. With the four of us a home each day, 24 hours a day, we had to figure out how to pass the time.


Passing Time

Colin and I would usually sleep in until about nine each day since we did not have school or placement to attend to. The day would start with a coffee or two, some breakfast and socializing with his parents. After that, what could we do? The first couple days consisted of naps, card games, Netflix, eating and school work to pass the time. And of course our daily two episodes of Family Feud before dinner.


Keeping Entertained

Eventually, the four of us decided that we need something to play other than cards. A increasingly popular game that Colin and I play with our friends was on sale at Best Buy. After a quick drive and purchases we now had CATAN. A four player game that soon became out nightly competitive activity after dinner. We seriously played this game every night.


Just the other day we decided we needed to add a new game, the four of us were getting very competitive with CATAN. While out to get groceries, Colin picked up a new game, CLUE. Since purchasing a new game, we play both this and CATAN each night now.


Working

On March 25th I started my first day back at my summer job. While I enjoyed my time off, I was excited to get out and do something else each day. For more information about my job and working during this pandemic, see my blog "Working in a Pandemic".


26 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page